How Does The Baseball World Series Work?

How Does The Baseball World Series Work?

The World Series is a best-of-seven playoff clash that determines the winner of the Major League Baseball (MLB) championship at the end of each season.

The MLB is divided into two leagues – the American League (AL) and the National League (NL). The World Series pits the winners of each league against one another to decide the overall champion.

When did the World Series begin?

The first World Series took place in 1903. It marked the end of a bitter feud between the organizers of the AL and NL, who had previously battled for supremacy. The AL champion, Boston Americans (later known as the Red Sox), pulled off a surprise victory over NL champion Pittsburgh Pirates that year.

The World Series did not take place the following year, but it resumed in 1905, when the New York Giants beat the Philadelphia Athletics. It has been held on an annual basis ever since – apart from 1994, when there was a players’ strike – with the AL champion winning 66 World Series and the NL champion winning 50.

What is the format?

Each league is divided into three divisions – the NL West, NL Central, NL East, AL West, AL Central, and AL East. The winner of each division qualifies automatically for the postseason. The two remaining teams with the best record in each league go into Wild Card games, with a place in the postseason up for grabs.

After the Wild Card games, we are left with just four teams from each league. At that point, it is a knockout competition. The League Division Series whittles it down to two teams from each league, and they in the League Championship Series to decide the AL champion and the NL champion.

The champions of the two leagues then contest the World Series. It is a best-of-seven clash, so a team is successful if it wins four games. The winner is presented with the Commissioner’s Trophy.

The World Series games are held at the home stadiums of the teams competing for glory. Home field advantage alternates on a game-by-game basis.

The team with the superior regular season record plays four home games if the World Series goes right down to the wire.

In 2020, a neutral venue – Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas – hosted the World Series due to the pandemic, but it then reverted to the usual format thereafter.

Why is it called the World Series?

The World Series is only available to North American teams – 29 from the United States, plus the Toronto Blue Jays, who compete in the AL. Nobody can say for sure why it is called the World Series.

Some have claimed it was because a newspaper called the New York World initially sponsored the series, but that was debunked by researched at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

In fairness, all the best players in the world ply their trade in North America, and the best MLB team would probably beat the champions of Japan, Korea, Mexico and South America with ease.

When does the World Series take place?

The World Series is played in the fall each year. For that reason, it is regularly referred to as the Fall Classic. It typically takes place towards the end of October.

Which teams are the most successful in World Series history?

The New York Yankees are the most successful team in World Series history. They have reached the World Series 40 times and secured 27 wins – most recently in 2009. That leaves them with a win percentage of .675.

The St. Louis Cardinals are the second most successful team of all time, with 11 wins and eight losses, followed by the Athletics and the Red Sox, while the Dodgers have been the most successful team in recent years.

  • William Hill Casino

    $500 Risk Free Bet

    To be eligible for this Promotion, all eligible Patrons must place their first real money sports wager via the William Hill mobile app or desktop site, within 7 days of opening a William Hill NJ Account. If their Qualifying Wager is graded as a Loss the Participant will earn a one-time Free Bet token equal to the lessor of: 1) The full value of the Qualifying Wager or 2) $500 (“Free Bet(s).
  • 888 Sport

    $500 Welcome Bonus

    Player must be at least 21 years old, located in New Jersey, has completed the full registration process with, makes a first deposit equal to or greater than $10 and may be entitled to a Welcome Bonus of 100% up to $500 on the players first deposit at
  • Bet America

    Bet $50 Get $50 [code: BET50]

    Join BetAmerica today for an exclusive Bet $50 and Get $50 using code [BET50] on your next sports bet. Register today and enjoy our Freeplay contests where you can use your sports and casino knowledge to win $1000's in prizes every week.
  • Unibet Sportsbook

    Play Now

    Join Unibet Sportsbook today and once you add funds, we'll insure your first cash bet - get up to $500 back if you don't hit a winner. Make your first cash bet on any event. If your first settled cash bet loses, you will receive a refund to your account equal to the amount of your losing wager (up to $500). Your first cash bet ($10 or over) will qualify. You will receive the refund within 72 hours.
  • SugarHouse

    100% Up To $250 Deposit Match Bonus

    Player must create a new account, make a first deposit up to $250 to get a Deposit Match Bonus. Use code 250MATCH.
  • Caesars

    $1,001 Free Bet

    Make your first deposit and we will match your first sports bet up to $1,001! Cash bet must have minimum odds of -200. On Parlay wagers, each legs must have odds of -200 or greater.
  • FanDuel Sportsbook

    $1000 Risk Free Bet

    New Sportsbook Customers Only. Join FanDuel Sportsbook today and make your first bet. If you lose, we'll give you a refund of up to $1,000 in site credit (within 72h). Your first bet will qualify (If you have multiple selections on one betslip, it will be the first selection you made)
  • Draft Kings Sportsbook

    Get a deposit bonus up to $1,000!

    Join Draft Kings today and with your first deposit of $5 or more, start earning towards a deposit bonus of $1,000. A user’s first deposit (min. $5) made before 02/27/2022 qualifies the user to receive up to $1,000 in bonus funds in the form of site credits that can only be used on DraftKings. Bonus amount is equal to 20% of that deposit amount, not to exceed $1,000 (the user must deposit $5,000 to be eligible to receive the maximum possible bonus amount of $1,000).

Latest news

Betting news, tips, offers and more